El Capitan VirtualBox on a Skylake PC

Prerequisites

Today was supposed to be the day I focused primarily on my E7270 Hackintosh. As we all know, if it isn’t one thing its another. My VirtualBox copy of OSX somehow corrupted and I have now spent all day in a sidetracked manner, attempting to put El Capitan on a virtual machine and get it ready to configure everything for the new Hackintosh. So today’s post will be covering just how badly I struggled to make this damn thing function like it should.

In order to get your VMDK, go to the TechViewers article and select the VMDK download.

El Capitan VirtualBox Configuration on a vPro Skylake i7 6600U Dell Latitude E7270

Let me begin by stating that this was a massive amount of trial an error to get El Capitan to run and install as smoothly as it did in the end. I have to thank the advice of everyone at TechsViewer.com and Insanelymac.com. Without these guys or the advice in some of the threads I was reading, I don’t think I would have been pointed in the direction I needed to go.

My Configuration

I used the standard instructions and VirtualBox configuration that is mentioned in the TechsViewer article here. With these I got several errors and boot issues, as I expected because my machine is much newer hardware that would naturally not be the exact same as the instructions for an i3 based machine. I will first post screen captures of my exact and current set up, and then I will explain what I did to get around the errors I am facing.

System Detailed

el-cap-system-detailed

el-cap-system
Use 2 CPU’s and PIIX3  along with EFI enabled and preferrably 2+GB of RAM. I also made sure virtualization was enabled.

Storage

el-cap-storage
This VMDK included the 79GB for the VirtualBox disc size.

Display

el-cap-display
I used the standard display with 108 MB because anything under 96 MB would not boot. ^^This was a trial by error solution.

Errors I faced

The biggest issue I faced was with setting the video memory and playing with it until I got the machine to actually display something after boot. After I had my magic number of 108 MB, I then began to see the boot of El Capitan. But this wasn’t the end of all my struggles. Once El Capitan would consistently boot and I could see the start up of the required devices, I ran into the “Missing Bluetooth Controller Transport” error. This was an easy fix that can be solved with some code input into the command prompt. Before you input this code you must do 3 things:

  1. Determine what version of VirtualBox you have.
  2. Close VirtualBox entirely
  3. Run Command Prompt as an admin after you have closed VirtualBox

The code you must insert varies for each version.

For Version 5.0.x use: 

cd “C:\Program Files\Oracle\VirtualBox\”
VBoxManage.exe modifyvm “OSX El Cap” –cpuidset 00000001 000106e5 00100800 0098e3fd bfebfbff
VBoxManage setextradata “OSX El Cap” “VBoxInternal/Devices/efi/0/Config/DmiSystemProduct” “iMac11,3”
VBoxManage setextradata “OSX El Cap” “VBoxInternal/Devices/efi/0/Config/DmiSystemVersion” “1.0”
VBoxManage setextradata “OSX El Cap” “VBoxInternal/Devices/efi/0/Config/DmiBoardProduct” “Iloveapple”
VBoxManage setextradata “OSX El Cap” “VBoxInternal/Devices/smc/0/Config/DeviceKey” “ourhardworkbythesewordsguardedpleasedontsteal(c)AppleComputerInc”
VBoxManage setextradata “OSX El Cap” “VBoxInternal/Devices/smc/0/Config/GetKeyFromRealSMC” 1

***Where “OSX El Cap” is your virtual machine’s name. (Insert name inside quotation marks)

 

For Version 4.x.x use:

cd “C:\Program Files\Oracle\VirtualBox\”
VBoxManage.exe modifyvm “Your VM Name” –cpuidset 00000001 000306a9 04100800 7fbae3ff bfebfbff
VBoxManage setextradata “Your VM Name” “VBoxInternal/Devices/efi/0/Config/DmiSystemProduct” “MacBookPro11,3”
VBoxManage setextradata “Your VM Name” “VBoxInternal/Devices/efi/0/Config/DmiSystemVersion” “1.0”
VBoxManage setextradata “Your VM Name” “VBoxInternal/Devices/efi/0/Config/DmiBoardProduct” “Iloveapple”
VBoxManage setextradata “Your VM Name” “VBoxInternal/Devices/smc/0/Config/DeviceKey” “ourhardworkbythesewordsguardedpleasedontsteal(c)AppleComputerInc”
VBoxManage setextradata “Your VM Name” “VBoxInternal/Devices/smc/0/Config/GetKeyFromRealSMC” 1

***Where “Your VM Name” is your virtual machine’s name. (Insert name inside quotation marks)

Boom, you now have a functioning El Capitan running in VirtualBox

Glamour Shot

el-cap-header-image

One thought on “El Capitan VirtualBox on a Skylake PC

Leave a Reply

